top of page
Search

Common terminology you * MUST * know in podiatry~ 2/3

GOOOOOOOOD MORNING NEW YORK!

Yikes, I have not been up this early in a very long time. I'm talking my highschool days, sorry tutors, but even for my 9:30 am clinic starts I am asleep till 9 am. (you'll never change me!)

Today however, I'm afraid I'll be going over crucial terminology that got me through my first year (I'M LYING, REDBULL GOT MY THROUGH MY FIRST YEAR so stock up... *not sponsored*)

Therefore this post will be rather boring, as opposed to my regular riveting posts ....











Right moving on, today I wanted to discuss and go over terminology for skin and nail disorders and Neale's Clinical Companion will be helping me out! *Fun fact for all you vampires, the nail is supplied by 2 branches of the dorsal metatarsal artery and two branches of the plantar metatarsal artery* (which would be important information for a ... vampire mouse and nothing else)

Nerves supplying the proximodorsal area of the nail and bed are the small branches from the dorsal nerves (superficial peroneal, deep peroneal and sural) meanwhile the medial and plantar nerves supply each toe respectively to supply the skin (plantar, meaning top part) then extend to supply the anterodistal area of the nailbed and superficial skin. In essence you've got blood supply and nerve supply till your tippy toes! yay!

Okay so.. Lets go over nail disorders:


1) Involution (Pincer) Nail: looks exactly how you'd think it would... flat down the center of the nail, but one or both sides would be curved inwards (almost curling) hidden by surrounding tissue. This can be often associated with yellow nail syndrome which can occur in fingernails as well, abnormailities can occur in the lungs and swelling can occur in different parts of the body and its the result of build up of protien-rich fluid (lymph) you can find out more here: https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/yellow-nail-syndrome/






2) Onychocryptosis: Ingrowing toenail... enough said.

3) Subungual Exostosis: When a small protuberance (I'm not samrt, I had to google it) of bone under the nail plate near its free edge. As the bone growth increases the nail plate becomes elevated from its nail bed and displaced.

4) Subungual Heloma: In lamens terms, I mean corn. Since many people are familiar with the term "corn" I won't go into too much detail but for those that dont, its essentially a build up of hard skin centred within a small area.

5) Subungual Melanoma: Cancer of the nail unit, its a type of cancer that develops in cells called melanocytes. You can find out more here: https://www.healthline.com/health/subungual-melanoma

Right.. thats all I have for today, I'm going back to bed!

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Branding

Anyone that knows me, knows that topics surrounding branding are a particular interest of mine. Branding is exciting and ties into...

コメント


bottom of page